Box Review: BookLoot “Twisted Wishes” Box

BookLoot is a young adult monthly book subscription box that sends out boxes centered on a certain theme each month.  Each box comes with one newly released young adult novel, 3 – 4 bookish accessories, and a short story that BookLoot personally publishes from a user submitted story.  Since I am a book box owner myself, I was super excited to receive this box!  I personally love how they send out different genres to spice up the reader’s bookish life, and I was excited to find out that they do help writers publish their short stories through their box.  Since I work exclusively with indie authors, I was so happy to see that they really put a lot of passion into helping writers reach a wider audience.  They also seemed to send items that are very particular to the theme and the book chosen, and I am a sucker for those details!

The price of the box is $29.99/month, but they do offer 3 month ($86.97), 6 month ($167.94), and 12 month ($323.88) pre-pay options with an additional discount.  Shipping is not included in those prices, but they do ship within the United States and Canada.  US shipping is a flat rate of $8.99, but all other shipping is calculated based on your location.

Purchase BookLoot Here

 Now that all of that is taken care of, let’s get to the goods!

February’s BookLoot theme was “Twisted Wishes” and I loved how the theme was a bit dark and mysterious.  It was also nice to see a theme that hadn’t been overdone, and I loved how they included Labyrinth!

The box comes in a sturdy grey box with the BookLoot logo on the front.  It protected all of the items well, and I felt like a lot of work went into making sure that the items were carefully packaged.

When opening the box, you are greeted with the insert card that features the February theme artwork.  I think that the artwork is beautiful, and it portrays the theme nicely.  It was also nice to see that they used artist Suzie Mason from @waffleandbear on Instagram.  That little detail showed me how much they believe in small business artists, and I’m excited to look for more of Suzie’s artwork.  Everything was also nicely packaged in paper filling, and it added to that surprise element of the box since everything was not completely visible when opening the box.  Also included was a button with the box’s theme on it, and I thought that was a cute promotional item.  I will be putting it on my book bag!

The first item included in the box was a 3 oz. “As You Wish” candle from the Etsy store, From the Page!  I have gotten a couple of other candles from this shop, and I just love them.   This particular candle smells sweet and ethereal and it is based on The Princess Bride.  It goes perfectly with the theme, and I will be lighting it up right away!  You can never go wrong with candles.

The next item included was this set of Maleficent earrings that are exclusive to BookLoot!  They were created by Sam Marie’s Artistry, and are adorable little studs.  I love how one of the pairs has Maleficent on them while the other are druzy studs, and I can’t wait to wear them!  They go with the Sleeping Beauty section of the theme, and I think that they fit perfectly with the box.

The next couple of items are from Paperly & Co. and they are a magnetic Goblin King bookmark, as well as a watercolor bookmark based on Labyrinth!  I adore the little magnetic bookmark of the Goblin King, it is just too cute!  And the watercolor bookmark is gorgeous and well preserved.  I look forward to using these when I read, and I think that they are a wonderful addition to the box.


The next item is exclusive to the box, and it is a published short story that BookLoot published themselves.  The story is called A Wish to the West, and it has been written by an author that submitted it to BookLoot – Geoff R. Grovers.  The cover is gorgeous, and I am so excited to read this little story!  It is nice to be able to read a story that hasn’t been published elsewhere.  The cover art was also done by Cynthia Castillo from http://www.umobeastchronicles.com/.

Also included were these adorable Labyrinth stickers by Wonderdame Bookmarks!  The go along with the bookmarks included in the box, and I will definitely be using them in my planner.

And now, for the main attraction!  The book chosen this month was Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones, and I am so excited to read it!  It has been marketed for fans of Labyrinth and Beauty and the Beast, and I love how the book has a lot to do with music.  Here is the synopsis:

Wintersong is a maze of beauty and darkness, of music and magic and glittering things, all tied together with exquisite writing. This is a world you will want to stay lost in.” ―Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Dark, romantic, and unforgettable, Wintersong is an enchanting coming-of-age story for fans of Labyrinth and Beauty and the Beast.

The last night of the year. Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride…

All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her mind, her spirit, and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen and helping to run her family’s inn, Liesl can’t help but feel that her musical dreams and childhood fantasies are slipping away.

But when her own sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl has no choice but to journey to the Underground to save her. Drawn to the strange, captivating world she finds―and the mysterious man who rules it―she soon faces an impossible decision. And with time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

Rich with music and magic, S. Jae-Jones’s Wintersong will sweep you away into a world you won’t soon forget.

“This was Labyrinth by way of Angela Carter. Deliciously romantic, with a nuanced Goblin King and a strong heroine, this story was rife with fairy tales, music, and enchantment.” ―Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

The book is also written like a concert, and I love how it is split up into different musical pieces.  I look forward to reading it!

The book also came with some special edition items from the author, which I always love!  Included in the box were a Wintersong music sheet and a letter from the author on an art print of the book cover.  I always love these little touches, and they really helped me to connect with the author!

Overall, BookLoot did a great job of curating this box!  They put so much effort into making sure that the items matched the theme while also going along well with the book chosen.  I loved how carefully packaged the box was, and how each item had a purpose.  I look forward to see what this box has in store for the future!

To purchase your own BookLoot box, please see the link at the beginning of this article.

book17.jpg

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s